Statement from FORAS Board of Management

The outgoing Board of Management of Cork City FC (FORAS) are pleased to announce that earlier today we have had final sign-off on each of the documents required for the football club to be bought outright by Dermot Usher, which has also been approved by our governing body, the Football Association of Ireland.

Outgoing club chairman, Declan Carey, said “This is a great day for Cork City Football Club. We now have a new owner who has the capability to allow our club compete where it should be. As a Board we want to wish Dermot the best of luck and would encourage all fans to get behind him over the coming years and help our club reach its full potential. We are confident that today marks the start of the next positive chapter of the clubs history”.

There were a large number of individuals involved in the completion of the legal and financial agreements: Dan Leahy, O’Mahony Farrelly O’Callaghan Solicitors; Alan Whelan, Whelan Accountancy; Sean O’Conail, University College Cork; Padraig O’Donoghue, Moore Ireland; Naoise Cosgrove, Eimear Grier, and Darren Roche, Crowe Ireland; and Gerry Beausang and Conall Ennis, Pinsent Masons. We would like to thank each person individually for the trojan amount of work that was required in completing the deal.

Finally, as a Board we would like to thank each of the supporters, commercial partners, club employees, volunteers, and FORAS shareholders who have helped us over the past 4 years and who have helped our club during the past 11-years of fan ownership. We will be continuing in our role as the Board of FORAS where we will be working with Dermot Usher and his team to ensure a smooth transition, whilst we will also be re-grouping and reflecting on the next steps that the supporters trust must take in continuing in our role as guardians over Cork City FC.

We will be communicating directly with the shareholders over the coming weeks, through email and the FORAS social media channels. Dermot will be releasing his own statement addressing the supporters directly in due course.

Board of Management
Declan Carey
Conor Hallahan
Garrett Fleming
David Alton
John Paul Clifford
Colm McAuliffe

You may also like...