Chairperson Treasurer Secretary
Declan Carey Owen O’Sullivan Shane O’Connor
Board Members
Gar Fleming (Vice Chair), Joe Leogue, Darren O;Keeffe

Friends of the Rebel Army Society (FORAS) is an Irish industrial and provident society established to act as a Cork City Football Club supporters’ trust and guardians of senior football in Cork City. The word “Foras” is also the Irish language word for foundation. The trust was launched on 1-September, 2008 at 4pm (1-9-8-4). 

The Board of Management of FORAS is elected at the trust’s Annual General Meeting (AGM). Board members typically serve 3-year terms, with rules stating committee members must stand down after two 3-year terms.

A membership recruitment drive was launched in September 2008, in the wake of revelations that the club was to enter the examinership process through the Irish courts. Following its establishment, funds were raised via membership fees and donations.

On 23 February 2010, following the winding up and denial of a League of Ireland licence to Cork City Investments Fc Ltd (Cork City FC’s holding company), FORAS were granted a League of Ireland First Division licence and entered under the temporary name Cork City FORAS Co-Op. FORAS also maintained Cork City FC’s national league underage sides as Cork City Football Club.

5 March 2010; A general view of Cork City fans in the away section. Airtricity League, Premier Division, Derry City v Cork City Foras Co-Op, Brandywell Stadium, Derry. Picture credit: Oliver McVeigh / SPORTSFILE

On 1 June 2010 the club completed the full purchase and restoration of the Cork City FC name and history from Cork City Investments FC Ltd’s liquidator.

Through FORAS leadership, Cork City FC gained promotion back to the Premier Division in 2011 and won further major trophies (two FAI Cups and one Premier Division title) over the next decade.

29 October 2011; Cork City celebrate with the Airtricity League First Division cup. Airtricity League First Division, Shelbourne v Cork City, Tolka Park, Dublin. Photo by Sportsfile

For the 2018 season, FORAS facilitated the transition of Cork City Womens FC who officially became part of Cork City FC.

Following a period of uncertainty and financial struggle, Cork City FC were relegated back to the First Division having finished bottom of a shortened Premier Division season (as a result of the COVID-19 global pandemic). The club regained Premier Division status after winning the First Division for a second time in 2022.

Board of Management members (L-R) David Alton, Gar Fleming, John Paul Clifford, Declan Carey, Conor Hallahan and Colm McAuliffe celebrate Cork City’s return to the Premier Division after winning the First Division in 2022. Photo: Terry Coleman.

Following a membership vote of 86% in favour on 3-December 2022, FORAS relinquished custodianship of Cork City FC to Irish businessman Mr Dermot Usher. The formal legal handover completed on 3-February 2023.

FORAS has since returned to its original purpose of guardianship of senior football in Cork City and continues to fundraise through membership fees, events and donations. The trust has over 500 individual shareholders.

FORAS Board Members

Kevin Lynch (2008-2010), Cathal O’Driscoll (2008-2010), John O’Sullivan (2008-2011), Sonya O’Neill (2008-2012), Jonathan O’Brien (2008-2012), Paul Hartnett (2008-2013), Kevin McCarthy (2008-2011), Seán Ó’Conaill (2009-2010), Catríona Boyle (2009-2011), Patrick Shine (2009-2011, 2018), Pat Lyons (2010-2012, 2013-2019), Joe Hurley (2010-2011), Laura Barry (2010-2013), Niamh O’Mahony (2010-2013, 2015-2016), Pat Healy (2011-2014), Stephen O’Callaghan (2011-2014), Collin Power (2012-2015), Mick Ring (2012-2015), Erika Ní Thuama (2012-2015), John Kennedy (2012-2018), Darren O’Keeffe (2013-2019, 2023-ongoing), Wyon Stansfeld (2013-2019), Alan Mooney (2013-2015), Derek Lynch (2015-2018), Mike Derham (2015-2019), Shane O’Connor (2016-2019, 2023-ongoing), Declan Carey (2018-ongoing), Damien Sreenan (2019), Conor Hallahan (2019-2023), John Paul Clifford (2019-2023), Garrett Fleming (2019-ongoing), Colm McAuliffe (2019-2023), David Alton (2019-2023), Owen O’Sullivan (2023-ongoing), Joe Leogue (2023-ongoing).